VINEGAR….please pay attention, Vinegar is something that the prophet Muhammad salah la alaihi wa salem, used to eat and recommend ,Jabir ibn ‘Abdullah reported that Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) asked his family for condiment. They (the members of his household) said: We have nothing with us but vinegar. He asked for it, he began to eat it, and then said: Vinegar is a good condiment, vinegar is a good condiment.”
Sahih Muslim Book 023, Hadith Number 5093.
However there are also sahih hadith that says certain types of vinegar- “wine vinegar” are not permissible to consume, is further confused by translation of Prophet Medicine books, translated from Arabic into English, where scholars like Ibn Jawziyaah are purported to cite that wine vinegar is permissible and recommended for certain illness.It is probably a defect in the translation, usually by an English person, because the hadith says wine vinegar is not permissible.
Narated By An-Nu’man ibn Bashir : Anas b. Malik said: AbO Talhah asked the Prophet (n him) about the orphans who had inherited wine. He replied: Pour May I not make vinegar of it? He replied: No.
Abu Dawud Book 020, Hadith Number 3667.
according to the Muslim consumer group in Chicago “Distilled white vinegar, apple cider vinegar, malt vinegar, corn (Maize) sugar vinegar are considered Halal. Wine Vinegar and Balsamic vinegar are not considered Halal because of leftover wine in wine vinegar and high content sugar containing grape in Italy, which in turn provides more alcohol available to convert it to vinegar, causing some alcohol to remain.”